Day 12: 12 Days of Christmas Music 2012

[As with Day 11, this is not the original version I used, but I haven’t found that version that I can link to online. This is a nice version as well, but I prefer the original one I used.]
Merry Christmas Eve! I hope you’re looking forward to tomorrow and feeling cheered by the season. Thank you, all, so much for enjoying this countdown with me! Thank you for your replies, for sharing songs with me. This little project has put me in the Christmas spirit perhaps more than anything else this year.
I debated whether or not to end with a less familiar carol, but the lyrics to this one and the feeling the song captures seemed to be exactly what I wanted to end with. “If You Would Hear the Angels Sing” is, I believe, a Dutch carol. These lyrics seem to have been written/adapted by Dora Greenwell in the 1800s.
The song describes various trappings of Christmas: a warm fire, the food, Christmas bread. And it acknowledges that the world is dark with want and care, but Christmas comes in the morning — that time is weary and worn and cold, but Christmas comes in the morning. The part that made my heart soar when I sang it, however, was the ending, calling people to rise and welcome Christmas and then suddenly remembering that “many there be that stand outside.” I think of those who fit that description every time I hear it.
This Christmas and at any time, if you would hear the angels sing, “people, see [that] you let each door stand wider than e’er it stood before.” The world is wide, and Christmas comes in the morning.
A very merry Christmas to each of you!
If You Would Hear the Angels Sing

If you would hear the angels sing
Peace on earth and mercy mild,
Think of him who was once a child
On Christmas day in the morning.

If you would hear the angels sing,
Rise and spread your Christmas fare.
‘Tis merrier still the more that share
On Christmas day in the morning.

Rise, and bake your Christmas bread.
People, rise, the world is bare
and blank and dark with want and care,
Yet Christmas comes in the morning.

If you would hear the angels sing,
Rise, and light your Christmas fire,
And see that you pile the logs still higher,
On Christmas Day in the morning.

Rise, and light your Christmas fire.
People, rise! The world is old,
And time is weary, worn, and cold,
Yet, Christmas comes in the morning!

If you would hear the angels sing,
People, see you let each door
Stand wider than e’er it stood before,
On Christmas Day in the morning.

Rise, and open! People rise! The world is wide,
And many there be that stand outside.
Yet Christmas comes in the morning.
Leave a Reply

